Harry Potter 1 & 2

Thanks to Penelope at The Reading Fever, I have a few questions to answer re Harry Potters 1 & 2. Feel free to leave your comments below or start your own challenge.

  1. What was your first very first impression of Harry Potter himself? Did your impression change at the end of the first book? In the beginning, I read Harry as lonely. Didn’t have any friends, called a freak by his family, & was made to live in a cupboard under the stairs. By the end of the first book, I felt as if Harry still didn’t know who he was & wasn’t strong enough to start asking the harder questions. But Hogwarts became his home, where he felt close to his parents & he wanted more.
  2. At what point in either book did you decide that you did, or didn’t, like the story? I hadnt read any of the books until after the 5th or 6th movie. I had to know how the story ended so I read the Deathly Hallows first. I love most things that have happy endings. Of course there were parts I didnt understand so I had to read from the start! I’ve liked Potter since I saw the first film at the movies.
  3. Is there anything you dislike so far? Something you would change if you could? I didn’t like how big-headed Lockhart was, considering he didn’t perform all the quests he was boasting about. Although Lockhart trying to do a runner instead of saving Ginny was true to his form. I also don’t think I will enjoy re-reading how Harry always saves the day. I might try focus on his faults & the darker characters in the next book.
  4. What is it about J.K. Rowling’s writing that makes her books so appealing to so many people? Is it the characters? The plot? Something else? What do you love most about her writing? I think the picture she creates of this alternative Wizarding World is intriguing, using actual places in a special way. Her characters are individuals, not one like another. Even the Weasley twins had their own personality. I think any person can identify with one of the characters. It might not be Harry but we can at least understand his story.
  5. In the first book, we are introduced to a very different world than the one we live in. What were some things that blew your mind when you first read about them? It’s almost like another dimension. Witches, Wizards, wands that pick their owner, enslaved House Elves, Goblins who look after your treasures at the local bank, an old school currency? Where to start!
  6. Despite being so different, what do you think makes the wizard world so believable? What makes it a place that people want to escape to? Magic. Their is a spell, charm or potion for almost anything. I don’t think it’s overly believable but if you needed somewhere to escape, I would pick this Magical world.
  7. In The Sorcerer’s Stone, Professor Quirrel tells Harry, “There is no good and evil, there is only power, and those too weak to seek it.” What does this statement tell us about Professor Quirrel? Do you agree or disagree with him? Lord Voldemort is living off him. I think he was scared. Voldemort put this image in his head that he couldn’t get anywhere without it. People who want power seem greedy & selfish. I disagree. The pure love & goodness from Lily is what saves Harry from death.
  8. In The Chamber of Secrets, Dumbledore tells Harry, “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” The sorting hat also suggested Harry could find great fame and glory in Slytherin House. What choices does Harry make that lead him away from darkness? Could he have been the good wizard that he was if some of those choices were different? He stuck up for the underdogs even before setting foot in Hogwarts. He simply could’ve befriended Malfoy, decide to be in Slytherin & goodbye Mr Nice Guy. I think after Harry discovered how bad/dark some wizards could be, he would decide enough was enough & it was time to behave.
  9. If you’re re-reading the series, what are some differences you’ve noticed this time? Are there things you didn’t pick up on before? Or did you find you liked/disliked something differently this time? In Chamber of Secrets, Dumbledore is only a teacher at Hogwarts in Riddle’s time. I thought he was Headmaster? (movie reference: when Harry is shown Dumbledore’s memory in the Pensieve of Tom Riddle as a boy living in an orphanage when Dumbledore invites him to Hogwarts?)
  10. Just for fun: If you could make your own polyjuice potion, who would you disguise yourself as, and why? this is a toughy & not something I’ve thought about. I dunno about this world but if it had to be a Harry Potter character, I would want to be Luna Lovegood for a few hours. She is happy, good-spirited & doesn’t care what people think of her.
2 thoughts on “Harry Potter 1 & 2

    • I hadn’t thought about it that way. I think she would get away with a bit of mischief because no-one would ever suspect her. She is very trustworthy & faithful to her Dad too. Cheers for the comment.

Leave a Reply

